BBR Optometry adds another national award to its growing collection

9 November 2015

BBR Optometry in Hereford has been announced as the winner of a prestigious national award in recognition of its services to optics. Run by the Association of Optometrists (AOP) and sponsored by Johnson & Johnson Vision Care, the awards recognise the highest levels of achievement in UK optics.

BBR Optometry was named the winner in the Marketing Campaign of the Year category during an awards ceremony held in Birmingham on 5 November for its promotion of ‘Zeiss Office’ lenses. The category, which is sponsored Lloyd and Whyte, recognises an outstanding marketing campaign which promotes an element of optometry, be it sales-motivated marketing, brand-building or increasing awareness of eye health.

Commenting on the award, Practice Manager, Daniel Read, said: “We are delighted to accept this award. We think we’ve shown that you don’t need gimmicks, a vast budget or to spend a great deal of time to create an incredibly effective marketing campaign.”

The campaign, delivered with long-term marketing partner Pepperneck Ltd based in Malvern, used social media, press engagement and email to engage with customers. Discussing the campaign Mr Read described how email communication formed a key part: “We created an email which was sent to a targeted section of our patient database. This included an offer of 50% off Zeiss Office lenses, information about the benefits of occupational lenses and a video showing how the lenses work. After reading the email and watching the video, patients were invited to click a link to make an appointment. This email was sent at the beginning of the promotion with a follow up towards the end.”

For BBR Optometry the campaign went beyond promotion as it has also had a positive impact on the behaviour of staff. Mr Read revealed: “It has also had an ongoing effect through a change in the culture at BBR. The professional team now raises awareness of the availability of occupational lenses with all patients that they feel may benefit from using them.”

Henrietta Alderman, AOP Chief Executive, said: “The AOP Awards gives us the opportunity to celebrate the extraordinary achievements of the individuals and organisations who give so much to the public and the profession. Congratulations to everyone who was shortlisted for an award this year.”

More than 14,000 votes were cast across this year’s awards categories. The twelve awards categories include a new accolade for Newly-qualified Optometrist of the Year. For more information on the AOP Awards 2015, including details of all the winners and shortlisted nominees, see the AOP website

Image captions

Top right, l-r: Host Fergus Walsh with Nick Black, Nick Rumney and Jessica MacIsaac from BBR Optometry with  Ewan Johnson from Lloyd & Whyte

Bottom left, l-r: Ewan Johnson from category sponsor, Lloyd & Whyte with BBR Optometry


Have you found what you were looking for?

If not, and you would like further assistance, please contact us.